On September 9, 2014, CA Governor Jerry Brown signed Assembly Bill 1522, also known as the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014. This law will go into effect in July, 2015 and unless a collective bargaining agreement is in place, will apply to all employers operating with the state, including those who already offer paid time off (PTO).
This law entitles exempt or non-exempt employees who are employed in CA for 30 days or more to accrue paid sick leave. The sick leave will be accrued at the employee’s regular rate of pay of not less than one hour per every 30 hours worked beginning on the first day of employment or the effective date of the new law (July 1, 2015) whichever is later.
The sick leave may be used for the employee, his or her family, or for treatment related to sexual assault or domestic violence. Accrued paid sick days carry over to the following years of employment, however, employers are permitted to limit an employee’s use of paid sick days to 24 hours in each year of employment.
The law prohibits employers from discriminating or retaliating against an employee who requests paid sick days, allows the California Labor Commissioner to impose administrative fines for violations of the law, and authorizes the California Attorney General to recover civil penalties including attorneys’ fees, costs and interest against employers who violate any of these provisions.
Please Note: This Act applies to all employers regardless of the number of employees. HR Advisors will be sending our clients more information on this Act as we receive it.